The Present Fleet

No.1 Whimbrel
Nigel Daniel

No.6 Swallow
Stephen Daniel

No.8 Gemini
Bryan Davis

No.20 Shearwater
Malcolm Gill

No.21 Tern
Ken & Morag Steven

No.22 Teal
Jane & Mike Calvert

No.23 Gannet
Chris Brown

No.24 Maflingo
Graham & Eileen Mather

Up until 2017 Gannet was the most recent AOD to be built, launched on a cold January morning in 2010. At the River Race Dinner of that year, all seven owners agreed upon the AOD constitution – and formed the Axe One Design Class Association.

At the same time a new AOD specification was agreed, this incorporated the rules of 1959 into a much more comprehensive format to safe guard the AOD.  Also, Peter Williams lofted a set of moulds from No.1 and is in the process of drawing a set of plans to compliment the specification. The latest specification is issue 4, agreed by the owners at the AOD Jubilee Ragatta in June 2013.