AODs 60th Anniversary Regatta 21st – 23rd June

The regatta was held over last weekend under the burgees of the Axe Yacht Club & K.E.Y.S. Despite the unseasonal conditions on the Saturday & Sunday, three out of the five races were completed, plus a full social programme.

The weekend started off with two river races on the Friday evening (this in view of the forecast). The races were held in a moderate westerly, which provided little in the way of a beat, but the sun shone and it allowed the whole fleet of seven to take part. The first race was won by Swallow, the second race by Teal.

The racing was followed by a cocktail party for competitors and friends at Stepps House in the village of Axmouth. A presentation AOD fleet photograph was given to Brain Lavender, President of the AYC, to be hung in the clubhouse. The evening was rounded off with a firework display from Stepps’ lawn, luckily before conditions deteriorated.

Unfortunately Saturday & Sunday’s programmed sea races had to be cancelled due to the unusually rough June conditions, ruling out beach launching. However, the third river race was held on the Saturday evening under somewhat demanding conditions. A fresh south westerly was blowing up the estuary, accompanied by heavy intermittent rain. The conditions suited the ‘heavy weights’ and again Teal came out on top. The race was followed by the AOD class dinner at Axmouth’s Ship Inn – an excellent meal.

The AYC entertained the class to lunch on Sunday followed by a prize giving at the club house. It was a great honour to have Irene Drew, widow of the late Jack Drew who designed the dinghy in 1951 present the prizes. Jack was the driving force for the conception of the AOD and it was fitting that his boat Whimbrel No.1 launched in 1953 should take part in the regatta.

All seven of the AOD class took part in the racing, of which three (Swallow, Whimbrel & Gemini) were from the original batch of nine constructed between1953 and 1954.

Overall results :- AOD 60th Anniversary Cup – presented by Mrs Irene Drew :-

First place No.22, Teal – Mike & Jane Calvert

Second place No.6,  Swallow – Stephen Daniel

Third place No.1, Whimbrel – Nigel Daniel

4th place No.8, Gemini – Bryan Davis.  5th place N.o 20, Shearwater – Malcolm Gill.

6th place No.23, Gannet – Chris Brown.  & 7th place No.21, Tern – Ken & Morag Steven.

The Original Cup went to No.6,  Swallow – sailed by Stephen Daniel, being the first placed original boat still sailing.

In conjunction with the regatta, the winning general handicap prize went to Peter & Di Taylor sailing their Burnham class dinghy Bumble.

Leave a comment